Saturday, August 20, 2011

Caribbean Netherlands (Caribisch Nederland)

Caribisch Nederland is a new stamp issuing entity since the dissolution of Netherland Antillen last October 2010. JP had a chance again to visit there and I am very thankful to receive my very first cover Caribisch Nederland. Thanks a lot!!! Another gap in my collection has been filled.

The Caribbean Netherlands (Dutch: Caribisch Nederland, Papiamento: Hulanda Karibe) collectively refers to the three special municipalities (officially public bodies) of the Netherlands that are located overseas, in the Caribbean: Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. The territorial grouping is alternately known as Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba or the BES islands. Although part of the country of the Netherlands, the special municipalities remain overseas territories of the European Union at least until 2015.
Bonaire (including the islet of Klein Bonaire) is located east of Aruba and Curaçao, close to the coast of Venezuela. Sint Eustatius and Saba are located south of Sint Maarten and northwest of Saint Kitts and Nevis. The three islands gained their current status following the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles on 10 October 2010, while the islands of Curaçao and Sint Maarten became autonomous countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The BES islands have a collective population of 18,000 and a total area of 328 square kilometres (127 sq mi).

No comments :