Wednesday, April 13, 2011


Kosovo, officially the Republic of Kosovo is a partially recognised independent state. It is self-declared and has de facto control over most of the territory of Kosovo, while North Kosovo, the largest Kosovo Serb enclave, is under control by parallel Serbian institutions. Serbia does not recognise the unilateral secession of Kosovo and considers it a United Nations-governed province within its sovereign territory.
The Republic of Kosovo is landlocked and borders Serbia north and eastward, the Republic of Macedonia to the south, Albania to the west and Montenegro to the northwest. The largest city and the capital of Kosovo is Pristina (alternatively spelled Prishtina or Priština), while other cities include Peć (Albanian: Peja), Prizren, Đakovica (Gjakova), and Kosovska Mitrovica (Mitrovica).

No comments :